askally

Ask Ally takes on Nessie

In Funny, Life on September 16, 2008 at 12:04 am

Yes, I did. Instead of updating I went to Loch Ness.

I did not see the point in facing off the legendary monster, given that it has lived so peacefully for so long, so sadly there is no epic story there.

However…

There was a true moment of shere sublime Scottishness that nearly knocked me off my feet.

After stopping at Glencoe, which is amazing, and also the site of the famous massacre (look it up, you lugs), we climbed back on the bus to find that the bus driver had decided to play for us some music.

And he had chosen for our enjoyment…

The frigging BRAVEHEART SOUNDTRACK.

I kid you not. For the next three hours we were treated to the most quintessentially Scottish music you can imagine: following Braveheart there was a selection of Celtic ballads played on the bagpipe, such as ‘Danny Boy’ and ‘The Skye Boat Song’.

I felt like I’d just slipped into a really intense delusion. It was epic. And the only thing that made it even better – for yes, it gets better, was when the CD started skipping.

Fantastic. Legen… wait for it… I hope you’re not lactose intolerant because the next word is – DARY.

And that, my friends, is why I love this place.

Also the accents.

  1. Next step: learn one of those accents. Following step: teach it to your awesome brother, in exchange for tech support.

Leave a Reply

