askally

An Ask Ally Swan Song?

In Life on November 4, 2008 at 1:08 pm

Hey all.

It is a sad topic for an Ask Ally post (which was originally a message to the Ask Ally Facebook Take Over group), but a necessary one. The truth is, people, that I am thinking about letting Ask Ally go.

It seems to be crippled and in pain. And when something you love is hobbling along, oozing blood from various orifices, you don’t just stand there and watch it. You shoot it in the face. With love.
What I mean by this gory but poignant metaphor is that no one has sent me questions in literally months, even when I directly asked for them (you’ll notice there is a question in the comments. He solved it himself within days. Dammit). And I don’t just mean good questions that I can work with (usually, I get some good questions, and some questions that are really just impossibly to develop anything out of). I mean any questions. Since September. About anything. At all.
I will be honest, I did get a decent question in September. Unfortunately it was about the election, and by the time I was moved, and settled in, and PhD registered, and studented up, meeting new people-d, and job huntified, etc, the election was all but over. This was unfortunate and I do admit it was my fault. But, to be fair, it was the first honest-to-goodness question I’d had since, I think, July. Or even June.

You may have noticed an increase of updates that had nothing to do with the premise of Ask Ally, and were mere reflections on my life. And then, after this, you may have noticed a distinct lack of updates.

All of this is because I had nothing to work with. Well, and also because I have been extremely stressed and busy… Whatever – the point still stands! No questions says to me that interest has waned. Which is cool – I will survive without your love. But if that is the case I don’t really want to keep dragging this out with made up questions and hilarious fake names and places (echoes of my newspaper career!)

So, I have one half-written Ask Ally in the works. It was stretched out of a conversation I had with a friend a while back. It doesn’t technically fit the bill, but it was close enough. Eventually that will be put up, but then, unless I get some questions, I think it is done for.

I see no point in keeping it going to be asked frequently “when I will update”, when I can’t update because I have no material.

Anyway, please send me your thoughts about this, should you have any. If not, then in due course I will be putting up the last post of Ask Ally!

Much love,
Ally xo

  1. Dear Ally,

    It breaks my heart that you are thinking of ending the glory that is Ask Ally. I must apologize for my apparent lack of appreciation of your work – I’ve just been busy, ok?

    Anywho, I have a question and it’s a holiday-themed one as well. Here it is: Why is it that every year I get super pumped for Christmas, but when I finally make it home for holidays, that joy is swiftly and inevitably crushed by insane family members? I am beginning to suspect that family is much better in theory than in practice. Thoughts?

Leave a Reply

