askally

Valentines’ Day Haiku Part III: I love chicken, I love liver, MeowMix MeowMix please deliver

In Funny, Life, People, Poetry, Relationships, Social Commentary on February 17, 2011 at 12:30 am

The final installment of my Valentines’ Day Haiku tweet collection brings together tweets from the day leading up to V-Day, as well as the grand occasion itself.

#1

Slipping on icy

cobble-stones, frost on the glass.

Month of love and roses.

(Yeah, I added an extra syllable. Deal with it)

#2

So soft in my arms.

We hug, I am comforted.

My teddy loves me.

(My teddy’s name is Penny the Gender Ambiguous Bear)

#3

Red roses, red wine

red hearts, red cards, red army

Communist onslaught?

(Think about it) (Least successful communist onslaught ever)

#4

Valentines pancakes.

Heart-shaped, drowning in syrup

and love. Digested.

#5

Criminal pleasure.

We would have been hanged if it

were 1902.

(Pleasure is sin, you guys. Keep it dull and businesslike)

#6

Roses are red and

violets blue. If not for the

kids, I would leave you.

#7

Childhood love; pure

ninja turtle fantasy

sullied by the net.

(Donatello the Ninja Turtle is a sexual beast, but those youtube videos of turtle sex noises have ruined the gleeful innocence of my first true love. I am forever traumatised)

#8

Dizzy. Heart pounding,

Pulse sonorous in my ears.

Spinning? I swoon. Drunk.

(The quality really plummeted towards the end)

#9

Fatal bubbles stream;

pink champagne tickles parched lips.

No antidote, love.

(Don’t accept champagne from strangers)

#10 (A bonus, post Valentine’s Day Haiku)

Frenzy over, the

15th brings ennui; perfect

metaphor for love.

Leave a Reply

